Skip to content

Pat Roberts honored by wheat growers

Pat Roberts honored by wheat growers

WASHINGTON — U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, R-Kan., Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, and key members of his staff, today received awards for their leadership on issues important to wheat producers from the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) and the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers (KAWG). Roberts also addressed the NAWG and US Wheat Associates Winter Conference.

“I’m honored to receive the ‘Wheat Leader of the Year’ award,” said Chairman Roberts. “I’m pleased to have the advice and counsel of the wheat growers as we begin writing the next Farm Bill. We have a lot of work to do to ensure our wheat growers remain the most efficient in the world.”

Roberts was presented with the “Wheat Leader of the Year” award, the much-coveted “Wheaties” box, which is given annually to one member of congress based on his or her demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry. This is the second time Senator Roberts has received this award.

Members of Chairman Roberts’ staff received the “Friend of Wheat” award, given annually to congressional staff who demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm. The 2017 recipients include James Glueck, Janae Brady, Wayne Stoskopf, and Will Stafford.

Pictured above, left to right: KAWG President Mike Jordan of Beloit, Will Stafford, Janae Brady, James Glueck, Wayne Stoskopf and KAWG Vice-President Ken Wood, Dickinson County. (Courtesy Photo)

“I am proud of the work of my staff on behalf of Kansas wheat producers and those around the country,” Roberts said. “We have a hard-working and knowledgeable staff who put in long hours to ensure American farmers and ranchers are protected and promoted in the U.S. Senate.”

James Glueck, policy director for the Committee, coordinates the work of the Chairman’s policy team that manages the broad range of food and agriculture issues requiring Committee action. Glueck earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Development from Texas A&M University. Glueck has worked for the Senate Agriculture Committee since 2013.

Janae Brady, senior professional staff, handles international trade and agricultural research for the Senate Agriculture Committee. Brady is a fifth generation Kansan born and raised in Parsons, Kansas, and grew up working on her family’s wheat and sorghum farm located in Deerfield, Kansas. Brady has worked for Senator Roberts in several capacities for four years and holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Kansas State University as well as a master’s degree at the George Washington University.

Wayne Stoskopf, professional staff, covers commodities, crop insurance, and dairy issues for the Committee. He was raised on his family’s wheat, sorghum and livestock farm near Hoisington, Kansas. Stoskopf graduated from Kansas State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Agribusiness. Stoskopf has worked for the Senate Agriculture Committee since 2015 and previously worked in Roberts’ personal office serving as the agriculture legislative assistant.

Will Stafford, Senator Roberts’ agriculture legislative assistant since March 2015, is a graduate of Towson University, where he received a Bachelor of Science in Economics.

–U.S. Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry