Skip to content

NAWG Weekly Updates, January 10, 2019

NAWG Weekly Updates, January 10, 2019

2019 NAWG/U.S. Wheat Winter Conference Housing and Registration Open!
Housing and registration has officially opened for 2019 NAWG/USW Winter Conference scheduled for February 12-15, 2019 at the Grand Hyatt Washington in downtown Washington, D.C. Register and reserve your rooms here. The deadline to reserve your room is MONDAY, JANUARY 21, 2019.

NAWG Provides Farm Bill Conference Update to NDGGA Board
On January 8, 2019, NAWG VP of Policy and Communications Josh Tonsager, via conference call, joined the North Dakota Grain Growers Association (NDGGA)’s board meeting to discuss the lay of the land for Congress in light of the government shutdown. Additionally, Tonsager provided an overview of the NAWG’s agenda for 2019 which includes meeting with the new members of Congress. Email Josh Tonsager if interested in having NAWG do a similar presentation for your board.

NWF Chairman Wayne Hurst Participates in First Annual Soil Health Partnership (SHP)
On January 15-16, 2018, NAWG’s Environmental Policy Advisor Keira Franz and National Wheat Foundation Board Chairman Wayne Hurst will be attending the annual Soil Health Partnership (SHP) Summit. Hurst was invited to take part in a panel during the Summit where he will provide an overview of the Foundation, the importance of soil health to wheat growers, and National Wheat Action Plan (NWAP).

Kansas Sen. Pat Roberts to retire in 2020
On Friday, January 4, 2019, Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) announced that he will not run for a fifth term. Chairman Roberts has represented the state of Kansas for 16 years in the House and 22 years in the Senate. He has been a true champion for American wheat farmers and all of agriculture.

USDA Extends MFP Deadline Due to Shutdown
On January 8, 2019, USDA Secretary Perdue announced that the Agency will extend the deadline for agricultural producers to apply for payments under the Market Facilitation Program as provided by the trade mitigation program. The original deadline was January 15, 2019, but farmers have been unable to apply for the program since the lapse in federal funding caused the closure of USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) offices at the end of business on December 28, 2018.

New Senate Ag Committee Members
The Senate Agriculture Committee will have two new members, Republicans Mike Braun of Indiana and Democrat Richard Durbin of Illinois. Because the GOP increased its Senate majority, the committee’s Democratic membership was cut from 10 to nine; there will still be 11 GOP members. Once updated the new list of members can be found here. The Senate Ag Committee majority has issued a release announcing the GOP makeup of the Committee which can be found here.

Register Today for the 2019 Commodity Classic!
There is still time to register for the 2019 Commodity Classic, which is scheduled for February 28th – March 2nd in Orlando, Florida at the Orange County Convention Center. NAWG has been assigned to the Rosen Centre hotel (9840 International Drive, Orlando, Florida 32819) which is located right next to the Convention Center. Visit here to register for the conference.

Source: National Association of Wheat Growers