Skip to content

NWF Announces State Winners for the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest

NWF Announces State Winners for the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest

Washington D.C. (November 21, 2019) – Last week, the National Wheat Foundation (NWF) announced the national winners for the 2019 National Wheat Yield Contest. Today, NWF is announcing the state winners for the 2019 Contest which includes 115 growers from 24 states. The Foundation’s National Wheat Yield Contest offers growers the opportunity to compete with farmers from across the United States and improve their production practices through new and innovative techniques.

“If you asked the general public where they think wheat is grown, they would say states like Kansas or Nebraska,” stated Foundation Board President Wayne Hurst. “The National Wheat Yield Contest breaks this assumption, and truly shows the diversity the wheat crop provides growers to be grown from the East to the West Coast and in between.”

The contest recognizes winners in two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, and two subcategories: dryland and irrigated.

“NWF would like to thank each grower for enrolling in the wheat yield contest and our sponsors for helping to make the contest available to wheat growers in the U.S.,” continued Hurst. “As the contest continues to grow, we hope to see growers from new states enter the contest and include wheat farmers from states not recognized in this year’s batch of winners.”


The Contest is made possible by these Corporate Sponsors – Ardent Mills, AgriMaxx, BASF, Corteva, Croplan/Winfield, Indigo Ag, Grain Craft, John Deere, LCS, Mennel Milling, Miller Milling, Syngenta, and WestBred.

*There were two measures to determine winners. 1. By the percentage increase their yield exceeds the most recent 5-year Olympic county average as determined by USDA. 2. Highest Yields

**Final yield in bushels/acre

The national winners attending the 2020 Commodity Classic will be recognized during a reception celebrating the Contest and its winners. The 2020 Classic will be held in San Antonio, Texas from February 27th – February 29th. Official rules and entry details for the 2020 Contest will be available by January 1st, 2020 at 


About the Foundation
The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education and outreach. Serving our mission, the Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower centeredness, integrity, honesty and trustworthiness. The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors and managed by staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.

Source: National Wheat Foundation