Skip to content

2022 Best of the Best


The North Dakota State University and the University of Minnesota Extension, along with the MN Association of Wheat Growers, MN Wheat Research & Promotion Council, MN Soybean Research & Promotion Council, ND Soybean Council, ND Grain Growers Association, and ND Wheat Commission have joined together to present producers with current research information. In this workshop growers will have the opportunity to learn from researchers and extension specialists. Meetings are free. Pre-registration is requested. To register call (218) 253-4311, ext 4 or register by filling out the registration form online.

Wednesday, February 2, 2022COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT, MOORHEAD

Thursday, February 3, 2022ALERUS CENTER, GRANDFORKS

Pre-Registration has closed. Walk-ins are welcome at both locations.


8:20 a.m. Welcome 

8:30 a.m. Preventing Erosion and Soil Loss – Jodi DeJong-Hughes, U of MN Extension, Morris Moorhead only 

8:30 a.m. Can Genetic Marker Data Help Us Tailor Nitrogen Fertility Recommendations in Spring Wheat?
– Dr. Jochum Wiersma, U of M Extension, Crookston Grand Forks only 

9:00 a.m. Field Crop Insect Updates for 2022
– Dr. Janet Knodel, NDSU Extension & Pat Beauzay, NDSU, Fargo 

9:30 a.m. Optimizing Fungicide Timing, Droplet Size and Application Frequency for Management of White Mold in Soybean – Dr. Michael Wunsch, NDSU Extension, Carrington 

10:00 a.m. Soybean Management Suggestions Based on Grower Survey Results and Field Research
– Dr. Hans Kandel, NDSU Extension, Fargo 

10:45 a.m. Herbicide Carryover Concerns – Dr. Joe Ikley, NDSU Extension, Fargo 

11:15 a.m. Pigweed Control – Dr. Debalin Sarangi,
U of M Extension, St. Paul 

11:45 – 2:00 p.m. Lunch and Hands on Demonstrations Lunch speaker: Commodity Market Update – Dr. Frayne Olson, NDSU Extension, Fargo

2:00 p.m.   Fertility Management with High Fertilizer Prices – Dr. Dave Franzen, NDSU Extension, Fargo 

2:30 p.m.   High Residual N and Management of IDC in Soybean – Dr. Seth Naeve, U of M Extension, St. Paul

2:40 p.m.   Panel on Soil Fertility and IDC in Soybean 

– Dr. Dave Franzen, Dr. Seth Naeve, and Dr. Mike Metzger, Vice President for Agriculture and Research at Minn-Dak Farmers Cooperative

3:05 p.m.   Adjourn


• LoRaWan Technology

– John Nowatzki (retired), NDSU Dept of Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering, Fargo

• Pigweed Identification

– Dr. Debalin Sarangi, U of M Extension, St. Paul

• IDC in Soybean

– Dr. Angie Peltier, U of M Extension, Crookston

• Wheat Quality Demonstration

– DeLane Olsen, NDSU Wheat Quality Lab, Fargo

• Kernza: A New Perennial Grain

– Dr. Clair Keene, NDSU Extension, Fargo